GA May Pass a New Law for Kids …..

Ga. House Passes Bill Raising Car Seat Age To 8

Posted: 1:17 pm EST March 1, 2011Updated: 1:33 pm EST March 1, 2011

ATLANTA — Georgia parents may soon be required to use a car seat for their 7- and 8-year-old children.A bill that raises the age for the use of child restraints from 6 to 8 years old passed the Georgia House on Tuesday. The bill, sponsored by Rep. Alan Powell, a Republican from Hartwell, includes an exemption for children under 8 who are at least 4 feet, nine inches or 40 pounds.The first violation would carry a fine of up to $50. A second violation has a fine of up to $100.Critics said the legislation is a “nanny bill” and the state shouldn’t tell parents how to raise children. Powell said the bill will help give parents safety guidelines and prevent severe injuries and deaths.The measure got a 129-43 vote. The bill now goes to the Senate.
What are your thoughts?? Bubba is only 6 but he is taller than the average 6 yr old. He is more like a 8 yr old. He fits in part of the exemption.
I don’t mind the law they are trying to pass. It is good to have a clear cut answer. but what I am tired of seeing is babies not in car seats. Or younger kids holding them in a moving car. Now I realize I would have Bubba in Rubble wrap forever, but I am slowly loosening the umbilical cord..
So if he is 4 foot 3 in and weighs 60 pds does this rule apply to me??
Share and Enjoy:
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Print
  • StumbleUpon
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Add to favorites

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge


Kelly's Coupon Addiction


Visit Hotcouponworld It's all about the deals.

  • 0
<div>